Architecture / Art / Leiden / Photography / Rembrandt / Travel

A walk through Leiden, Netherlands

Leiden, in the south Holland, is the city where Rembrandt the painter was born and raised. This is an old city dating back to the roman times. Its a charming city, that has given the Dutch many painters. I visited Leiden last year, and enjoyed my day trip.

Rembrandt Laughing, Image courtesy wikipedia

 The painting shown above is  rare,  it shows Rembrandt laughing. Recently i was surprised to come across a sketch done by Rembrandt of a Mughal King (probably from Shah Jahan’s Miniatures) at the British Museum, and fell in love with the painters work again!

Mughal King by Rembrandt, Image courtesy British Museum

The City has an imposing St. Pancras church built in the 15th century, and remains of roman fortification.

View of Church from Roman fortification

View of Church from Roman fortification

View of streets, shops and other interesting moments…

openable brigdes, Dutch engineering feat of yester years

openable brigdes, Dutch engineering feat of yester years

Across the bridge

Across the bridge

Art Nouveau, Shop Retail in 1920's in cearmic tiles

Art Nouveau, Shop Retail in 1920’s in cearmic tiles

Face on the wall

Face on the wall

This enduring image of a face, probably of the devil on the wall, is one of my favourites…

15 thoughts on “A walk through Leiden, Netherlands

  1. hi!,I love your writing so much! share we communicate more approximately your post on AOL? I need an expert in this space to resolve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to peer you. bcdgeekdbfef

  2. I just want to tell you that I am just very new to weblog and actually savored this page. Likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You actually have fabulous articles. Thank you for sharing your blog site.

  3. Admiring the time and energy you put into your weblog and in depth data you offer. It is very good to come across a weblog every once in a even though that isn�t exactly the same old rehashed material. Amazing read! I�ve bookmarked your internet site and I�m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  4. Im so happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation thats at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.

  5. Hey!… Just wanted to say I really like reading by way of your weblog and appear forward to all your posts! Maintain up the outstanding function!

  6. Hello my family member! I wish to say that this post is incredible, fantastic written and come with approximately all vital infos. I would like to see extra posts like this .

  7. I’d ought to seek advice from you here. Which is not something I do! I enjoy reading a write-up that could make folks feel. Also, several thanks permitting me to comment!

Leave a Reply

